view all related dvds | view all related news | view all related listings
date (day) time network episode title
8/28/14 (Th.)3:01 AMAMAZON(#101) Pilot

1/29/14 - 12/19/14
previously in development (2014-2015 season)
ordered to pilot
network passed on 9/30/14
(from Amazon's press release, August 2014) Hysteria takes viewers to Austin, Texas where social connection has become contagious. In the pilot, members of a girls' competitive dance team are stricken with a strange, psycho-physiological illness that manifests itself in violent fits and spasms and then begins spreading in the community through technology. Neurologist Logan Harlen (played by Mena Suvari) returns to her hometown to investigate the cause. Fighting her own demons and the growing manipulation of a brother on death row, Logan develops an uneasy suspicion that the hysteria surrounding the girls might actually be linked to social media and her own tragic past. Hysteria is written by Shaun Cassidy, who is known for genre thrillers such as Invasion and American Gothic, and directed by Otto Bathurst, who won the BAFTA Award for his work on the critically-acclaimed U.K. mini-series Peaky Blinders. The show also stars James McDaniel (Orange Is The New Black) as Carl Sapsi, Josh Stewart (The Dark Knight Rises) as Ray Ratajeck, Adan Canto (X-Men: Days of Future Past) as Matt Sanchez, Laura San Giacomo (Saving Grace) as Grace Pelayo and T.R. Knight (Grey's Anatomy) as Carter Harlen. The show is written by Cassidy, who is also Executive Producer alongside Adam Schroeder, Sharon Hall, Andrew Kosove, Broderick Johnson, Bryan Zuriff, and Bathurst. In addition to Suvari, McDaniel, Stewart, Canto, San Giacomo and Knight, Hysteria also stars Ella Rae Peck and Jenessa Grant. Pilot guest stars include Jason Douglas, Heather Kafka, Asjha Cooper, and Evie Thompson. Amazon Studios is collaborating with Universal Television and Alcon Television Group on the production of Hysteria.
· Adan Canto as Matt Sanchez
· Ella Rae Peck as TBA
· James McDaniel as Carl Sapsi
· Jenessa Grant as TBA
· Joseph David Jones as Deante Sanstreet
· Josh Stewart as Ray Ratajeck
· Laura San Giacomo as Grace Pelayo
· Mena Suvari as Logan Harlen
· T.R. Knight as Carter Harlen
· Adam Schroeder as EP
· Andrew Kosove as EP
· Broderick Johnson as EP
· Bryan Zuriff as EP
· Otto Bathurst as EP/DIR (Pilot)
· Sharon Hall as EP
· Shaun Cassidy as CRTR/EP
· drama
· Alcon Entertainment
· Amazon Studios