or


[11/20/14 - 02:23 PM]
WGN America Gets Into the Holiday Spirit with Very Merry Marathons and Yuletide Classics
"Blue Bloods," "America's Funniest Home Videos" and "How I Met Your Mother" are among the featured marathons.

[via press release from WGN America]

WGN AMERICA GETS INTO THE HOLIDAY SPIRIT WITH VERY MERRY MARATHONS AND YULETIDE CLASSICS

Programming Highlights Include "Blue Bloods," "America's Funniest Home Videos" and "'How I Met Your Mother' - Slapsgiving'" Marathons; "Bad Santa," "The Search for Santa Paws" and "The Muppet Christmas Carol"

LOS ANGELES, Nov. 20, 2014 - Get into the holiday spirit with WGN America's programming slate featuring yuletide classics and fan favorites, including "Bad Santa," "The Family Man," "The Search for Santa Paws" and "The Muppet Christmas Carol," as well as very merry marathons of popular series, including "Blue Bloods" and "How I Met Your Mother."

Following is WGN America's 2014 holiday programming schedule:

Thursday, November 27, 2014

· McDonald's Thanksgiving Parade (9:00 a.m. ET / 8:00 a.m. CT)

Chicago's 81st annual Thanksgiving parade kicks off the 2014 holiday season on historic State Street with giant balloons, spirited marching bands, high-stepping equestrians, fabulous floats, performance groups, and celebrities including Grand Marshal Dee Snider of Twisted Sister, Colin Egglesfield ("Rizzoli & Isles", "The Client List"), U.S. Little League National Champions Jackie Robinson West, Karolyn Grimes ("It's a Wonderful Life") and Yuri Sardarov ("Chicago Fire"). WGN's Mark Suppelsa and Micah Materre host coverage with Amy Rutledge.

· "Blue Bloods" Thanksgiving Marathon (12:00 p.m. ET / 11:00 a.m. CT)

Invite the Reagan family over to feast on a seven-episode "Blue Bloods" Thanksgiving Marathon, kicking off with "Thanksgiving" -- When a young woman commits suicide, Danny (Donnie Wahlberg) and Jackie (Jennifer Esposito) suspect foul play. Meanwhile, Frank (Tom Selleck) and Mayor Poole (David Ramsey) butt heads over a threat to the city.

· "America's Funniest Home Videos" Thanksgiving Marathon (7:00 p.m. ET / 6:00 p.m. CT)

The whole family can dig in when WGN America serves six hours of "America's Funniest Home Videos" in a Thanksgiving Marathon.

Friday, November 28, 2014

· "How I Met Your Mother 'Slapsgiving'" Marathon (8:00 p.m. ET / 7:00 p.m. CT)

Thanksgiving may be over, but we can still be grateful for the extra servings of laughter from the gang with the "How I Met Your Mother 'Slapsgiving'" Marathon, featuring seven "Slap Bet"-dedicated episodes.

Tuesday, December 9, 2014

· "Bad Santa" (8:00 p.m. ET / 7:00 p.m. CT)

You'd better watch out -- in one of the holiday season's darkest and most beloved comedies, Santa Claus Willie T. Stokes (Billy Bob Thornton) and his Little Helper, Marcus (Tony Cox), are coming to town - as costumed criminals who team up every year to use their disguises to rob mall stores blind. The plan seems to go off without a hitch - until they run into a wisecracking store detective (Bernie Mac) and a kid who's convinced Willie is the real Santa Claus. Sunday, December 14, 2014

· "Bad Santa" (10:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 p.m. CT) Sunday, December 21, 2014

· "The Search for Santa Paws" (3:00 p.m. ET / 2:00 p.m. CT) When Santa loses his memory, it's up to his new best friend, talking pup Paws, to save St. Nick and show the world what Christmas is all about in this Disney holiday favorite.

· "Santa Paws 2: The Santa Pups" (5:05 p.m. ET / 4:05 p.m. CT)

The mischievous talking Santa Pups stow away on Mrs. Claus' sleigh to visit the children of Pineville, but something goes terribly wrong - the Christmas spirit begins to disappear. Now the Santa Pups and Mrs. Claus must race to save Christmas around the world in this magical, heart-warming tale brimming with hope and holiday cheer.

· "Santa Clause 3: The Escape Clause" (7:05 p.m. ET / 6:05 p.m. CT)

Christmas cheer turns into holiday chaos when Scott Calvin (Tim Allen), aka Santa, invites his in-laws for a visit and must simultaneously contend with Jack Frost's (Martin Short) scheme to take over the North Pole. Scott, his family and Head Elf Curtis must join forces to foil the nefarious plot.

· "The Muppet Christmas Carol" (9:10 p.m. ET / 8:10 p.m. CT)

"The Muppet Christmas Carol" is sure to put you in a holiday spirit that will stay with you long after the season ends. Enjoy the incredible spectacle of Kermit the Frog as Bob Crachit, Miss Piggy as Emily Crachit and Michael Caine as Scrooge.

Monday, December 22, 2014

· "How I Met Your Mother 'Christmas'" Marathon (8:00 p.m. ET / 7:00 p.m. CT)

'Tis the season for Ted, Barney and the gang with WGN America's six-hour "'How I Met Your Mother' Christmas" Marathon.

Wednesday, December 24, 2014

· "America's Funniest Home Videos" (9:00 a.m. ET / 8:00 a.m. CT)

Ring in Christmas Eve with a morning full of "America's Funniest Home Videos."

· "The Search for Santa Paws" (2:00 p.m. ET / 1:00 p.m. CT)

· "Santa Paws 2: The Santa Pups" (4:05 p.m. ET / 3:05 p.m. CT)

· "The Muppet Christmas" (6:10 p.m. ET / 5:10 p.m. CT)

· "Santa Clause 3: The Escape Clause" (8:15 p.m. ET / 7:15 p.m. CT)

· "The Family Man" (10:20 p.m. ET / 9:20 p.m. CT)

Jack Campbell (Nicolas Cage) is a single, high-powered Wall Street executive whose life is turned upside down one Christmas Eve when he stumbles into a life-or-death situation and wakes up in an alternate suburban universe, married to Kate (Téa Leoni), the college sweetheart he forfeited for his career. When Jack makes the horrifying discovery that his former life no longer exists, he finds himself at a crossroad where he must choose between his career and the woman he loves.

Thursday, December 25, 2014

· "America's Funniest Home Videos" Christmas Marathon (9:00 a.m. ET / 8:00 a.m. CT)

Spread the holiday cheer with an all-day "America's Funniest Home Videos" Christmas Marathon.

# # #

WGN America and Tribune Studios

WGN America, the flagship entertainment network of Tribune Media Company, is nationally distributed in 72 million homes via cable, satellite and telco, with entertainment programming including the original, scripted series "Salem," "Manhattan" and "Outsiders," along with first-run syndicated series, blockbuster movies and live sports. Through Tribune Studios, the creative development arm of Tribune Media, original content is produced for WGN America and Tribune local stations nationwide. Follow the network on Twitter @wgnamerica. For additional information, please visit www.wgnamerica.com.





  [november 2014]  
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
      


· AMERICA'S FUNNIEST HOME VIDEOS (ABC)
· BLUE BLOODS (CBS)
· HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER (CBS)





[04/21/21 - 01:44 PM]
Disney and Sony Pictures Entertainment Announce Unprecedented Post-Pay 1 Content Licensing Agreement
The deal covers theatrical releases from 2022-2026 and begins for each film following its Pay 1 TV window.

[04/21/21 - 01:02 PM]
"Robot Chicken" Takes on Riverdale High with "The Bleepin' Robot Chicken Archie Comics Special" on May 23
In the half-hour special, Archie faces the action-packed return of Josie and the Pussycats from outer space to Riverdale in this animated comedy.

[04/21/21 - 01:00 PM]
OWN's Peabody Award-Winning Drama "David Makes Man" Set to Premiere Tuesday, June 22nd at 9p ET/PT on OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network
Season two finds David in his 30s (played by Kwame Patterson), a rising businessman facing an opportunity that will change him and his community forever.

[04/21/21 - 12:00 PM]
Apple Orders "Number One on the Call Sheet," Two Groundbreaking Companion Documentaries Celebrating Black Leading Women and Men in Hollywood
Jamie Foxx, Kevin Hart, Datari Turner, Dan Cogan, Angela Bassett, Halle Berry, Reginald Hudlin and Bryan Smiley are among the featured auspices.

[04/21/21 - 10:43 AM]
Hulu Originals' Series "How I Met Your Father," Starring Hilary Duff, from 20th Television Receives Straight-to-Series Order
"How I Met Your Mother" creators Carter Bays and Craig Thomas will executive produce alongside Isaac Aptaker and Elizabeth Berger.

[04/21/21 - 10:36 AM]
Disney and Pixar's New Short "22 vs. Earth" Coming to Disney+ April 30
Set before the events of "Soul," the original short is directed by 21-year Pixar veteran Kevin Nolting.

[04/21/21 - 10:12 AM]
Julian Edelman Joins New Team at "Inside the NFL" for 2020-2021 Season
Edelman will join as an analyst when the series makes its debut on Paramount+ this September, kicking off its 43rd season on television.

[04/21/21 - 10:01 AM]
Video: HBO Max Debuts Official Trailer and Key Art for the Max Original "The Big Shot with Bethenny," Premiering April 29
In the series, the next generation of business moguls will compete for a chance to be second-in-command to business tycoon and Skinnygirl founder Bethenny Frankel, and win a coveted position working on her executive team.

[04/21/21 - 10:01 AM]
Video: "Marvel's M.O.D.O.K." - Trailer (Official) - A Hulu Original
An egomaniacal super villain struggles to maintain control of his evil organization after it is bought by a multinational tech company, all while juggling the needs of his demanding family.

[04/21/21 - 10:00 AM]
Tuesday's Broadcast Ratings: Repeat "NCIS" Tops Charts for CBS
The network held off the competition among total viewers last night.

[04/21/21 - 08:31 AM]
Video: "Oxygen" - Official Trailer - Netflix
After waking up in a cryogenic unit, Liz fights to survive and remember who she is before her oxygen runs out.

[04/21/21 - 08:30 AM]
Apple Original Films Announce Multiple Sundance Award Winner "CODA" to Premiere in Theaters and on Apple TV+ on Friday, Aug. 13
Seventeen-year-old Ruby (Emilia Jones) is the sole hearing member of a deaf family - a CODA, child of deaf adults.

[04/21/21 - 07:01 AM]
Video: "Jungle Beat: The Movie" Trailer - Netflix Futures
When a lost and lonely alien crash-lands on Earth, his new crew of talking animal friends helps him get back home - and try to save the world.

[04/21/21 - 06:01 AM]
Roku Unveils "Roku Originals" Brand, Bringing Bold, Fresh Entertainment to The Roku Channel
Content from the Quibi acquisition in January will be re-branded as "Roku Originals" and will be launched on The Roku Channel.

[04/21/21 - 03:31 AM]
Video: Sardar Ka Grandson Welcomes You to Their Family! Netflix Launches the Trailer of the Heartwarming Film
A grandmother's last wish, a dedicated grandson, and a heartwarming journey, Netflix's upcoming film Sardar Ka Grandson promises warmth, love, and celebration of the bonds within a large Punjabi family.