Air Date: Sunday, November 14, 2004
Time Slot: 8:00 PM-11:00 PM EST on ABC
[NOTE: The following article is a press release issued by the aforementioned network and/or company. Any errors, typos, etc. are attributed to the original author. The release is reproduced solely for the dissemination of the enclosed information.]


Rod Stewart Joins List of Performers

Matthew Fox, Lance Armstrong, Ashanti, Eva Longoria, Nick Lachey, Mandy Moore and Anna Nicole Smith Among Added Presenters

Rock icon Rod Stewart, who currently has the No. 1 album in the country, has been added to the list of performers for the 32nd annual "American Music Awards," airing SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 14 (8:00-11:00 p.m., ET), on the ABC Television Network.

Newly added presenters for the special are "Lost's" Matthew Fox, cycling champ Lance Armstrong, Ashanti, "Desperate Housewives'" Eva Longoria, OutKast's Big Boi, Kenny G, JoJo, Nick Lachey, Linkin Park's Chester Bennington, "Good Morning America's" Tony Perkins, Michael McDonald, Brian McKnight, Mandy Moore and Anna Nicole Smith.

Stewart's "Stardust... The Great American Songbook Volume III" continues his series of releases, which began in 2002, of America's most celebrated songs done in Stewart's trademark style. Among those joining him on this CD are Eric Clapton, Bette Midler, Dolly Parton and Stevie Wonder. The album marks Stewart's first No. 1 in 25 years.

On the special, Stewart joins a lineup of performers which already includes Kenny Chesney with Uncle Kracker, Josh Groban, Toby Keith, Lenny Kravitz, Maroon 5, John Mayer, Jessica Simpson, Snoop Dogg & Pharrell, Gwen Stefani, Twista, Usher & Alicia Keys, Kanye West, Gretchen Wilson and this year's Award of Merit winner Bon Jovi.

Also scheduled to appear on the show as presenters are "life as we know it's" Kelly Osbourne, Clay Aiken, Pamela Anderson, "According to Jim's" Jim Belushi, Janet Jackson, Brooks & Dunn, Chingy, Ciara, Kelly Clarkson, Sheryl Crow, Carmen Electra, Macy Gray, Kathy Griffin, Billy Idol, "Boston Legal's" William Shatner, Lil' Flip, Teena Marie, MercyMe, Nelly, "Desperate Housewives'" Nicolette Sheridan, KISS' Gene Simmons, John Stamos, Switchfoot, tennis superstar Serena Williams and Ying Yang Twins.

The "American Music Awards" honor the past year's elite in contemporary music as voted by record-buyers. On the TV special, which will be hosted by Jimmy Kimmel, awards will be presented to top artists in Pop/Rock, Country, Soul/Rhythm & Blues, Rap/Hip-Hop, Latin Music, Contemporary Inspirational, Adult Contemporary and Alternative Music. Additionally, the T-Mobile Text-In Award, as voted by the fans, will be presented on the show. T-Mobile subscribers can cast their votes via text messaging using their T-Mobile SMS Capable cellular phones. Other members of the public wishing to cast their votes can do so at www.abc.com, Keyword: AMA, and viewers of the "American Music Awards" can also vote during the show via Enhanced TV by logging on to ABC.com and clicking on the Enhanced TV logo. Voting is now open and will conclude during the show on November 14.

The "American Music Awards" is produced by Larry Klein, with Jeff Margolis directing. Writers are Barry Adelman and Fred Bronson. Executive in charge of production is Bob Bardo. Associate producer is Don Harary. Music director is Lenny Stack. John Shaffner and Joe Stewart are the production designers. Talent executive is Melissa Trueblood. Executive in charge is Fran La Maina.

Share |