Air Date: Tuesday, June 05, 2007
Time Slot: 9:00 PM-11:00 PM EST on ABC
Episode Title: "THE 2007 ALMA AWARDS"
[NOTE: The following article is a press release issued by the aforementioned network and/or company. Any errors, typos, etc. are attributed to the original author. The release is reproduced solely for the dissemination of the enclosed information.]


Multi-Platinum Superstar Beyonc� to Perform; George Lopez to Receive 2007 ALMA Award for Special Achievement in Television; Los Lobos to Receive 2007 ALMA Awards' Pioneer in Music Award

The all-star lineup of today's hottest stars from the worlds of film, television and music continues to shine brighter with the announcements that multi-platinum performer Beyonc� Knowles will perform and George Lopez and Los Lobos will be honored on "The 2007 ALMA Awards," to be telecast TUESDAY, JUNE 5 (9:00-11:00 p.m., ET) on the ABC Television Network.

In addition to Beyonc�, other musical performances include the previously announced Prince, as well as Calle 13, Dashboard Confessional, Billy Gibbons, Los Lonely Boys and War.

Among the highlights of the 2007 awards ceremony, comedian George Lopez will receive the 2007 ALMA Award for Special Achievement in Television, and the Pioneer in Music Award will go to the band Los Lobos, whose musical repertoire includes traditional Spanish and Mexican music.

Celebrity appearances include (in alphabetical order): Jessica Alba, Santiago Cabrera, Oscar De La Hoya, Hector Elizondo, Daisy Fuentes, Andy Garcia, Jorge Garcia, Balthazar Getty, Jay Hernandez, Terrence Howard, Eva la Rue, Mario Lopez, Cheech Marin, Carlos Mencia, Amaury Nolasco, Ana Ortiz, Judy Reyes, Alex Reymundo, Roselyn Sanchez, Rodrigo Santoro, Nadine Velazquez and Eva Mendez.

The two-hour special, hosted by Eva Longoria ("Desperate Housewives"), is organized by The National Council of La Raza (NCLR), the largest national Hispanic civil rights and advocacy organization in the U.S. The annual ALMA (American Latino Media Arts) Awards recognize and celebrate Latino artistic achievement in American film, television and music.

"The 2007 ALMA Awards" will tape on Friday, June 1 at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium. Executive producers are Michael B. Seligman, Janet Murgu�a, David Chavez and Eva Longoria. Danette Herman is producer, joined by director Louis J. Horvitz, co-producer Brittany Olsen and music producer Scott Igoe. The program will be broadcast with Spanish audio via SAP. A TV parental guideline will be posted closer to airdate.

For more information on "The 2007 ALMA Awards," please visit www.almaawards.com.

Share |