Air Date: Tuesday, June 30, 2009
Time Slot: 8:00 PM-9:30 PM EST on ABC
Episode Title: (#102-90) "Episode 102"
[NOTE: The following article is a press release issued by the aforementioned network and/or company. Any errors, typos, etc. are attributed to the original author. The release is reproduced solely for the dissemination of the enclosed information.]


"Episode 102" -- "The Superstars," based on ABC's classic "Wide World of Sports" series of the same name, teams eight professional athletes and eight celebrities at the spectacular Atlantis Resort in the Bahamas to compete for the title of The Superstars Champion. "The Superstars" airs TUESDAY, JUNE 30 (8:00-9:30 p.m., ET) on the ABC Television Network.

The team pairings are Terrell Owens & Joanna Krupa; Jeff Kent & Ali Landry; Robert Horry & Estella Warren; Bode Miller & Paige Hemmis; Kristi Leskinen & Maksim Chmerkovskiy; Lisa Leslie & Dan Cortese; Jennifer Capriati & David Charvet; and Brandi Chastain & Julio Iglesias, Jr.

ESPN's John Saunders is the host, former NFL player and past competitor in "The Superstars" Warren Sapp is a correspondent, while Jenn Brown serves as the field reporter.

Event highlights in "Episode 102":


Teams must run a modified 100-yard relay race in the deep Bahamian sand, and at the end of each heat, the last team to cross the finish line is eliminated from the event. The rest of the teams must keep racing until there's only one team left. For one of the competitors, running in the sand proves too much.


The second event is a long jump... with a splash. A 40-yard runway is built over the lagoon at the Atlantis. Teams will set a bar in the water at a distance they think they can clear and then have to jump over it. If they hit the bar or jump short, they will get nothing.

"The Superstars" past winners include football stars Herschel Walker in 1987 and Jason Sehorn in 1998, decathlete Dave Johnson in 1993 and Olympic skier Bode Miller (who makes his return this year) in 2002.

"The Superstars" is produced by Juma Entertainment and Blue Entertainment Sports Television (BEST). Robert Horowitz, president, Juma Entertainment, Lewis Fenton, head of production, Juma Entertainment, Dennis Spencer, executive vice president, BEST and Michael Principe, managing director, BEST, are the executive producers. The series airs with Spanish subtitles via secondary closed captioning. A TV parental guideline will be posted closer to airdate.

Share |