Air Date: Tuesday, July 07, 2009
Time Slot: 8:00 PM-9:00 PM EST on ABC
Episode Title: (#103-60) "Episode 103"
[NOTE: The following article is a press release issued by the aforementioned network and/or company. Any errors, typos, etc. are attributed to the original author. The release is reproduced solely for the dissemination of the enclosed information.]


"Episode 103" -- "The Superstars," based on ABC's classic "Wide World of Sports" series of the same name, teams eight professional athletes and eight celebrities at the spectacular Atlantis Resort in the Bahamas to compete for the title of The Superstars Champion. "The Superstars" airs TUESDAY, JULY 7 (8:00-9:00 p.m., ET) on the ABC Television Network.

The team pairings are Terrell Owens & Joanna Krupa; Jeff Kent & Ali Landry; Robert Horry & Estella Warren; Bode Miller & Paige Hemmis; Kristi Leskinen & Maksim Chmerkovskiy; Lisa Leslie & Dan Cortese; Jennifer Capriati & David Charvet; and Brandi Chastain & Julio Iglesias, Jr.

ESPN's John Saunders is the host, former NFL player and past competitor in "The Superstars" Warren Sapp is a correspondent, while Jenn Brown serves as the field reporter.

Event highlights in "Episode 103":


Teams line up on the beach, with one teammate setting out swimming across the lagoon at the Atlantis. Once the finish line is crossed, the second teammate will dive into action and start his/her swim.


Each team will have 60 seconds to shoot and score as many points as they can with baskets that have assigned point values of 5, 4, 3, 2, and 1. Only one player can be out on the court at a time, and only one team will be safe from elimination.

"The Superstars" past winners include football stars Herschel Walker in 1987 and Jason Sehorn in 1998, decathlete Dave Johnson in 1993 and Olympic skier Bode Miller (who makes his return this year) in 2002.

"The Superstars" is produced by Juma Entertainment and Blue Entertainment Sports Television (BEST). Robert Horowitz, president, Juma Entertainment, Lewis Fenton, head of production, Juma Entertainment, Dennis Spencer, executive vice president, BEST and Michael Principe, managing director, BEST, are the executive producers. The series airs with Spanish subtitles via secondary closed captioning. A TV parental guideline will be posted closer to airdate.

Share |