Air Date: Friday, September 18, 2009
Time Slot: 8:00 PM-10:00 PM EST on ABC
Episode Title: "The 2009 ALMA Awards"
[NOTE: The following article is a press release issued by the aforementioned network and/or company. Any errors, typos, etc. are attributed to the original author. The release is reproduced solely for the dissemination of the enclosed information.]


Co-hosted by Eva Longoria Parker and George Lopez

Special Achievement Awards Presented to Salma Hayek, Oscar De La Hoya and Raul Yzaguirre, plus a Tribute to the Late Ricardo Montalban

"The 2009 ALMA Awards�" taped a star-studded event on September 17 at Royce Hall on the UCLA campus, delivering what is surely the biggest night on television for Latinos. The awards program airs tonight, FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 18 (8:00-10:00 p.m., ET) on the ABC Television Network.

Television and film actress Eva Longoria Parker and comedian George Lopez co-hosted the star-studded event. Longoria Parker also serves in her recurring role as one of the show's executive producers.

For the first time in history, the two-hour special, presented by NCLR (National Council of La Raza)�the largest national Latino civil rights and advocacy organization in the United States�is taking place during Hispanic Heritage Month, a time when Americans celebrate the Latino community and the contributions Latinos have made to our country throughout its history. The ALMA Awards celebrates the contributions of Latinos in the entertainment industry with Year in Review video packages and live performances from some of the world's most popular acts.

Salma Hayek, the first Latina to be nominated for a lead actress Academy Award for her role as Frida Kahlo in the film "Frida," receives the Anthony Quinn Award for Industry Excellence for honoring her Latino heritage through her craft while making a significant contribution to the Latino community.

Oscar De La Hoya is recognized with the Special Achievement in Sports Television Award for the contributions he has made to advancing the Latino image in sports television and for paving the way for others to produce positive stories on Latino sports figures.

Jimmy Smits and NCLR President and CEO Janet Murgu�a honor ALMA Awards creator Raul Yzaguirre with the first-ever PepsiCo Adelante ALMA Award for his lifetime of service to the Latino community, including his 30-year tenure as NCLR President and CEO.

Rita Moreno presents a special tribute in memory of the late Ricardo Montalban honoring his extraordinary film and television career and his efforts to overcome the negative image of Latinos in the entertainment industry.

Participating talent includes Antonio Banderas, Benjamin Bratt, Jordana Brewster, Crist�an de la Fuente, Milka Duno, Selena Gomez, Mario Lopez, Jesse Metcalfe, Amaury Nolasco, Soledad O'Brien, Edward James Olmos, Justina Machado, Enrique Murciano , Efren Ramirez, Roselyn Sanchez, Jamie-Lynn Sigler, Jimmy Smits, Lauren V�lez, Sof�a Vergara, and Kat Von D. Musical performances include Shakira, David Archuleta, Nelly Furtado, Sean Kingston, and Pitbull.

For more than 40 years, NCLR has been promoting the advancement of Latino families in this country, creating opportunities and opening doors. The NCLR ALMA Awards presentation is an integral part of the mission: A national primetime ABC Network entertainment special with a cause�to show how diversity strengthens our country and inclusion strengthens the entertainment industry.

The show is presented with the support of sponsors and advertisers. PepsiCo is the show's Title Sponsor. Gold Sponsors include Pepsi, Doritos, Gatorade, Quaker, Target, AT&T, Johnson & Johnson, Comcast, and Tropicana. Silver Sponsors include Prudential, ConAgra Foods, Verizon, State Farm Insurance Companies, McDonald's, L'Oreal, and the Walt Disney Company.

This year, the executive producers are Bob Bain, Janet Murgu�a, David Chavez, and Eva Longoria Parker.

The 2009 Special Achievement Award recipients are listed below:

Anthony Quinn Award for Industry Excellence � Salma Hayek
Special Achievement in Sports Television � Oscar De La Hoya
PepsiCo Adelante ALMA Award � Raul Yzaguirre
Fashion Icon � Jessica Alba
Year in Film � Actor � John Leguizamo (Nothing Like the Holidays)
Year in Film � Actress � Penelop� Cruz (Vicky Cristina Barcelona)
Year in Television � Drama Actor � Benjamin Bratt (The Cleaner, A&E)
Year in Television � Drama Actress � Lauren V�lez (Dexter, Showtime)
Year in Television � Comedy Actor � Oscar Nu�ez (The Office, NBC)
Year in Television � Comedy Actress � Selena Gomez (Wizards of Waverly Place, Disney Channel)
Year in Music � New Artist � David Archuleta
Year in Music � Dance Recording � "I Know You Want Me (Calle Ocho)" - Pitbull
Year in Documentaries � Latino Public Broadcasting (LBP)
Year Behind the Scenes � Makeup � Jeanne Van Phue (Twilight)
Year Behind the Scenes � Hair Stylist � Mary Ann Valdes (Twilight/Ugly Betty)
Year Behind the Scenes � Writer � Rick Najera (Nothing Like the Holidays)
Year Behind the Scenes � Director � Alfredo De Villa (Nothing Like the Holidays)

For further information, please go to www.almaawards.com.

Share |