Air Date: Sunday, June 28, 2015
Time Slot: 9:00 PM-10:01 PM EST on ABC
Episode Title: (#102) "Crunch Time: Qualifying Round Part 2"
[NOTE: The following article is a press release issued by the aforementioned network and/or company. Any errors, typos, etc. are attributed to the original author. The release is reproduced solely for the dissemination of the enclosed information.]


"Crunch Time: Qualifying Round Part 2" -- The epic robot-fighting tournament, "BattleBots," continues SUNDAY, JUNE 28 (9:00-10:01 p.m., ET) as the remaining teams face off during another Qualifiers round where they will converge in an arena of minefields and hazards for the ultimate shot at glory. In addition to the 8 battles, four wild card teams will be selected to round out the championship round of 16. Each match will consist of a single three-minute bout in which the goal is to completely destroy or disable the opponent. If there is no knockout during the three-minute battle, the panel of judges will declare a victor to move onto the next round. Competitors range from NASA engineers, to teenage students, to everyone in between -- each with one goal -- to claim the ultimate title and walk away with the grand cash prize.

Over the course of the tournament event, we'll introduce you to the builders behind the robots, break down each machine, and compare the match-ups with expert play-by-play analysis from veteran sports broadcaster, Chris Rose, color commentary from former UFC fighter Kenny Florian, celebrated sports anchor Molly McGrath as the host, and sideline reporters Allison Haislip and NASA engineer Bobak Ferdowsi. Judging each battle are former BattleBots competitor and special effects artist Fon Davis, NASA astronaut Leland Melvin and the face of Nerdist Jessica Chobot. Ring announcer Faruq Tauheed will preside as the bots battle.

The 18 teams slated to compete during the Qualifiers round are listed in alphabetical order below:

1. Bronco: Team Captains - Alexander Rose and Reason Bradley (Hometown: Marin County, CA / Currently Resides in Sausalito, CA)

2. Witch Doctor: Team Captain - Andrea Suarez (Hometown and Currently Resides in: Miami, FL)

3. Captain Shrederator: Team Captain - Brian Nave (Hometown: Deland, FL / Currently Resides in Ormond Beach, FL)

4. Overhaul: Team Captain - Charles Gaun (Hometown: Atlanta, GA / Currently Resides in Cambridge, MA)

5. Overdrive: Team Captain - Christian Carlberg (Hometown: Tolland, CT / Currently Resides in San Luis Obispo, CA)

6. Ghost Raptor: Team Captain - Chuck Pitzer (Hometown: Sarasota, FL / Currently Resides in: San Francisco, CA)

7. Counter Revolution: Team Captain - Curt Meyers (Hometown: Newburgh, IN / Currently Resides in San Jose, CA)

8. Complete Control MkV: Team Captain - Derek Young (Hometown: Georgetown Ontario Canada / Currently Resides San Francisco, CA)

9. Lock-Jaw: Team Captain- Donald Hutson (Hometown and Currently Resides in: San Diego, CA)

10. Radioactive: Team Captain- Kane Aston (Hometown and Currently Resides in: Hemel Hempstead, England)

11. Mohawk: Team Captain - Korey Kline (Hometown: Granada Hill, CA / Currently Resides in: Miami, FL)

12. Stinger: Team Captain - Matt Maxham (Hometown: Santa Rose, CA / Currently Resides in: Sacramento, CA)

13. Sweet Revenge: Team Captain - Nola Garcia (Hometown: Miami, FL/ Currently Resides in: Coral Gables, FL)

14. Tombstone: Team Captain- Ray Billings (Hometown: Chico, CA/ Currently Resides in: Placerville, CA)

15. HyperShock : Team Captain - Will Bales (Hometown: Miami, FL / Currently Resides in: Cambridge, MA)

16. Chomp: Team Captain - Zoe Stephenson (Hometown: Seattle, WA / Currently Resides in: Los Angeles, CA)

"BattleBots," a reimagined take of the killer robot combat sport from Whalerock Industries and the creators of the original "BattleBots" franchise, Ed Roski and Greg Munson. The homemade robots will battle against each other, in a single elimination tournament style format, until there is one champion. MGM Television, which has a development deal with Whalerock Industries, will be distributing the program internationally. There will be cash prizes for winners in the Championship Rounds. Executive Producers are Lloyd Braun, Chris Cowan, Ed Roski and Greg Munson.

About Whalerock Industries

Whalerock Industries, founded by Lloyd Braun, is a media and technology company creating innovative content experiences across all platforms. Whalerock's digital properties reach approximately 70 million people and include Wonderwall.com, Mandatory.com, Mom.me and Moviefone.com (in partnership with AOL). The company has television and films in development and production across the media landscape.

Share |